If it can’t be like this I don’t want it. I’m not talking about the goddamn diamonds and fame and all the rest. I’m talking about being with someone you need and want to be with, someone you crave above all else. You aren’t together because it makes sense or looks good on paper. You aren’t together because it’s better than being alone. You’re together because you are deep in the yum together. The sex is good. There’s a page and you’re both on it. You laugh together. You fight together. You stay together against considerable odds. I want it more than anything in the world but I am older and wiser now and know that it doesn’t happen for most mere mortals and there isn’t shit you can do about it. Truly. It happens or it doesn’t. But as for the whole settling thing, the whole companionship thing, the whole security blanket thing…none for me, thanks.

ThisWikipedia: This, in the English language, is the singular proximal demonstrative.

